The Future Awards 2015 Nominees

the future awards

The Future Awards announced nominees for its 2015 edition.

The Future Awards is unarguably Africa’s biggest event that celebrates young African adults all over the continent and beyond for their ingenuity in different walks of life. This year’s nominees, following a call for nominations, came from Kenya, Liberia, Zimbabwe, Uganda, Botswana, Nigeria, Tanzania, Ghana, Cameroon, Rwanda, and Gambia.

2015 AFRIMA Awards

The announcement was made earlier today live on EbonyLife TV by the Future Awards project manager, Bukonla Adebakin, who had this to say at the broadcast that was beamed to almost every country on the continent:

“After a one year cycle finding the brightest and the best young leaders across Africa, we are excited to present the Class of 2015, with inspiring stories and models that will change our continent.”

Check out the full nominees below and lets us know who will pick up the award for The Future Awards Africa Prize for Young Person of the Year and other awards up for grabs.


The Future Awards Africa Prize in Advocacy & Activism
1. Anoziva Marindire (Zimbabwe)
2. Olumayowa Okediran (Nigeria)
3. Segawa Patrick (Uganda)
4. Sakar Uchechukwu (Nigeria)
5. Queen Baboloki (Botswana)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Education
1. Josephine Marie Goodwill (Ghana)
2. Abena Agyemang (Ghana)
3. Cynthia Onwuchuruba (Nigeria)
4. Lily Kudzro (Ghana)
5. Maccathy Lomotey (Ghana)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Enterprise Support
1. Clarisse Iribagize. (Rwanda)
2. Enow Awah Georges Stevens (Ghana)
3. Olufunbi Falayi (Nigeria)
4. Catherine Mahugu (Kenya)
5. Venuste Kubwimana (Kenya)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Community Action
1. Edmund Duodu Antwerp (Ghana)
2. Kelvin Mutize (Zimbabwe)
3. Elijah Amoo Addy (Ghana)
4. Felix Richard Manyogote (Tanzania)
5. Daniel Nii Adom Oodnkor (Ghana)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Technology
1. Rasheeda Mandeeya Yehuza (Ghana)
2. Joshua Ihejiamaizu (Nigeria)
3. Abiola Olaniyan (Nigeria)
4. Duran De Villiers (South Africa)
5. Arthur Zang (Cameroon)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Entertainment

1. Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
2. Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
3. Refiloe Maele “Cassper Nyovest” Phoolo (South Africa)
4. Olamide “Badoo” Ayodeji (Nigeria)
5. Anne Kansiime (Uganda)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Agriculture
1. Witness Sanga (Tanzania)
2. David Asiamah (Ghana)
3. Fanka A. Yenah (Cameroon)
4. Momarr Mass Taal (Gambia)
5. Lawrence Afere (Nigeria)

The Tony O. Elumelu Prize in Business
1. Samuel Malinga (Uganda)
2. Kasope Ladipo-Ajai (Nigeria)
3. Evans Wadongo (Kenya)
4. Titus Mawano (Uganda)
5. Ali-shah Jivraj (Uganda)

The Future Awards Africa Prize in Public Service
1. Nkechi Okwuone (Nigeria)
2. Obiefule Iroabueke (Nigeria)
3. Emmanuel N. B. Flomo (Liberia)
4. Lefatshe Anna Moagi (South Africa)
5. Sakaja Johnson (Kenya)

The Future Awards Africa Prize for Young Person of the Year
1 Adesoji Solanke (Nigeria)
2 Teresa Mbagaya (Kenya)
3. Barclay Okari (Kenya)
4 Philip Obaji Jnr. (Nigeria)
5 Trevor Noah (South Africa)

The Future Awards Africa 2015 is powered by RED and held in partnership
with the Ford Foundation, Microsoft, the US Consulate, the Canadian High
Commission Nigeria, and The Tony Elumelu Foundation.

The event will be hosted in Lagos, Nigeria on Sunday, 6 December, 2015.

Leave a Reply